PDA

View Full Version : Cooling Overhaul - Overkill or not?

kw740735
10-22-2018, 01:12 PM
Hi all,

I am new to the thread, just picked up the car a couple of weeks ago, everything is going great. I want to re-do the whole cooling system to have a rock solid reliability as I daily drive the car atleast 50miles per day. I have read tons of reviews/threads/complaints about some OEM or aftermarket parts made with plastics that tend to end up having hairline cracks after a while. I have also read the exact same complaints about circulation/functional issues with metal aftermarket counterparts like mishimoto's ET.

I am about to order some parts, and the parts include the Stewart WP, the CSF Aluminum radiator kit + pipes, the OEM ET, Zionsville thermostat + belts and pulleys. I am wondering if anyone had any reviews on running similar setup for similar situations and whether if its actually overkill to spend close to 1k on a cooling overhaul when other kits sell it for about half the price.

(I am pretty set on the stewart pump, opened to anything else.)

PS: I plan on DD the car in Socal, weekend canyon visits, occasional track visits.

Vas
10-22-2018, 01:26 PM
Personally it is overkill and the Stewart pump is not worth the extra money.

If you want a kit, get the one from FCP Euro or something similar.

https://www.fcpeuro.com/products/bmw-mango-e46-cooling-system-overhaul-kit-mangocoolkit1

And then add the additional items they recommend.

The E46 cooling system is pretty robust if parts are replaced in a group and alot of people that track their cars have no issues with the factory parts. Spend the extra money on other mods or maintenance. (brakes,tires,etc)

papa_g
10-22-2018, 01:29 PM