PDA

View Full Version : Finally found the ZHP I was looking for...

pgiorgio
07-29-2017, 09:12 AM
I had a 2005 330ci vert 6 speed gray with gray interior which I loved, but wanted an Imola red with tan interior ZHP vert 6 speed. It took me a year to find one so I pulled the trigger. The car had 101000 miles and a spotty service history but ran well and was overall in pretty good condition so I took a chance and I flew down to Maryland and drove it 500 miles (one tank of gas) back to Cape Cod. It ran very well and I was very impressed. I took the car to an independent service shop that specializes in BMW/Mercedes and had their version of a PPI done (I guess it really isn't a true PPI if you have it done AFTER you buy it but I took a chance). The following is a list of what they found and the cost to fix them. The prices include OEM parts and labor. On this, and other sites I've seen many DIYs but I'm not very good with a wrench, so I have to have someone else address any car issues that I have. I plan on keeping the car long term and want to keep maint up and knew the car would need some work. I'd be interested in any comments about the need for, and the prices they quoted me for the work they say the car needs. Thanks in advance.

In the first month three amber lights came on together-skid control, brake,low tire pressure. They read the codes and said it was the steering angle sensor. They turned the lights off and said they would probably come back on but they haven't yet. I'm going to wait for the lights to come back on but their price to fix steering angle sensor is:

Steering angle sensor...$700
Booster Vac Hose... $110
Lower intake boot...$160
Leaking fan switch/change coolant...$219
Fuel filter(they said it was never replaced)...$215
Control arm support bushings...$366
Front sway bar links...$175
4 wheel alignment...$135

They said other common areas of concern were Vanos, coolant system valve cover gasket...said all were in good shape.

fredo