PDA

View Full Version : BMW E46 GM5 (Body Control Module) Rebuild: Central Locking Relay Replacement doityourself

justinwilson77
03-07-2016, 06:16 PM
DISCLAIMER
The first thing I'll say is DO NOT attempt this DIY if you've never used a soldering iron or have little experience. I'm not an expert but I have used a soldering iron quite a bit and this was still a nerve racking DIY. Regardless, here it goes.

Common Problems:
The Central locking system on E46 BMWs can be a little finicky after 10 years or so. Symptoms include: intermittent door locking capabilities, loss of ability to unlock passenger doors from inside using door latch, and only the driver door unlocking. I'm sure there are many other symptoms out there, this is not a comprehensive list.

Total Cost:
~$45 (Relays and desoldering iron) vs. $140 for sending it off.

Time:
2 hours.

Things you'll need:
Tyco V23084-C2001-A303 (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Qty-2-Tyco-V23084-C2001-A303-Relay-BMW-GM5-Door-Locks-/281136520883?hash=item41750adeb3:g:n-cAAOSwoydWnUvS&vxp=mtr) (Make sure to get the newest ones you can find. Preferably 2015 and up)

Desoldering Iron - I used one I found at Radio Shack (yea they're still around) for about $15.

Soldering Iron

Solder

Flat tip and phillips head screwdrivers

10mm socket wrench

Cutting pliers

Needle-nose pliers

The DIY:

First things first disconnect the battery using a 10mm socket...shouldn't need a picture but let me know.

Next you want to remove the glovebox. There are 6 phillips head screws holding the glovebox in place. You have to pull the top of the glovebox towards you and then down in order to remove.

Unclip the plugs to the light and the flashlight and set the glovebox aside.