PDA

View Full Version : New member from Birmingham, AL

Beto0o
06-15-2015, 02:41 PM
Hi everyone, just figured I should probably introduce myself. My name is Gil, nickname Beto, i'm currently studying for an electrical engineering degree.

I recently picked up an '04 ZHP, she has decent mileage, 198k miles but the price and condition was nice enough for me to take a chance on it. First weekend with it I went ahead and replaced the front suspension on it (new control arms, bushings, and tie rod ends). I also had to replace the shifter bushings from sloppy play in it, and I went ahead and replaced the guibo while I had the driveshaft off the transmission. So that was a good chunk of change spent already. I'm debating if I should do VANOS first or do the cooling system first. Not sure if I can afford both before my classes start in the fall. Any tips are appreciated.

Oh also I have a thud or clunk type of sound when I push the clutch in. I though it was the guibo from doing some googling but the sound is still there. Any ideas on what I should inspect?

Here's a few random pics. The corvette in the back was my daily, but she'll be gone soon.

jpalazzi87
06-15-2015, 02:55 PM
Welcome, nice car, about the same miles as mine, and hopefully many more enjoyable ones, and for the noise , possibly a rear shock mount if its when letting out the cluch and taking off from the suspension loading and unloading, possibly even a diff carrier bushing that's seen better days moving a little?
Also personally I would do the cooling system first, the vanos will make it run a little less than perfect, if a cooling component fails, you might be out an engine if its not caught fast enough, I'd rather have that piece of mind.

Beto0o
06-15-2015, 03:03 PM
Thanks, I hope so too, it really is a fun car! The noise actually comes when I first press the clutch pedal in. It's not consistent either, but I do tend to notice it when I'm usually in the lower gears, 1-3.

jpalazzi87
06-15-2015, 03:25 PM