PDA

View Full Version : My introduction!

BMWCurves
03-25-2015, 05:54 PM
So, many of you may have seen me lurking around and posting on the classifieds since November and thought "who's this clown?" Well it's high time I formally introduce myself so you can get to know that clown.

I'm a young guy from Portland named William. I was lucky, in my opinion, that both of my parents drove sporty cars with manual transmissions while I was learning to drive. As a direct result I now have that indoctrinated love of manual transmissions and haven't looked back. I have always enjoyed the styling of the early 2000s BMWs (E46, E39) and I was fortunate enough to be able to drive my father's 1998 E39 540i from time to time (possibly the best grand touring car I have ever driven, and an intoxicating amount of torque). I moved to Philly for school and after I graduated, I saved up and purchased a fully loaded Orient Blue Metallic 2003 330Ci MT5 at a great price. I loved that thing. It got me around town with no fuss, even though it was hell driving on the terrible roads in the Northeast. After about two years of ownership, life dictated I move back to Portland in July of 2014 and I figured why not drive across the country? The trip was amazing, but sadly, my car was not destined to survive the trip. Early in the morning of America's birthday, just south of the Grand Canyon, I collided with an antelope at about 60 mph. Both me and my friend were alright, but the accident totaled the car. We decided we should soldier on and use a rental for the rest of the trip.

More details about the trip can be seen here: http://imgur.com/a/jRldz