PDA

View Full Version : Ethanol-free or Shell V-Power

3ZHP
07-20-2014, 06:44 PM
Question;

I've been burning nothing but Shell V-Power in my ZHP for more than 5 years. However, in the area I'm now living Ethanol-free is readily available and the only problem I have with that is. These stations that sell it are mom & pop shops with no major branding label.

So, would it be better to stay with the trusted major brand V-Power or, take a chance on the mom & pops shops pure gasoline?

gmurphy
07-21-2014, 03:54 AM
I wouldn't personally because V-Power meets top tier fuel requirements. If you are worried about the pump having ethanol left over from the previous owner I know they make kits that supposedly you can dump into your tank and get rid of most of the ethanol.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JupiterBMW
07-21-2014, 03:57 AM
Something else to think about... I started searching for ethanol-free stations near me and found plenty... The only problem was that the ethanol free gas they were selling was only 90 octane... In my area, it was for all of the boaters, not really meant for cars. Also, the stuff was expensive!

I'll stick to my regular fuel... 93 octane from BP.

danewilson77
07-21-2014, 03:58 AM
Something else to think about... I started searching for ethanol-free stations near me and found plenty... The only problem was that the ethanol free gas they were selling was only 90 octane... In my area, it was for all of the boaters, not really meant for cars. Also, the stuff was expensive!

I'll stick to my regular fuel... 93 octane from BP.

BP brings you gas?

JupiterBMW
07-21-2014, 04:12 AM
Hah, not like that... I don't exactly have a direct line from my ship to my garage... But we have BP stations down this way, and I choose to shop there. Its the least I can do considering how many hours on the clock I spend screwing around with car related stuff.. :eeps

llll1l1ll
07-21-2014, 04:28 AM