PDA

View Full Version : I propose we start a ZHP Wiki

stephenkirsh
03-28-2014, 07:24 PM
I propose we start a ZHP Wiki.

If you're not familiar with what a Wiki is beyond Wikipedia, check it out here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wiki (lol @ the fact that the best definition is on wikipedia).

Basically, a wiki allows anybody to edit information pertaining to a particular topic. While I've no experience with managing a wiki, I'm assuming it can be set up so that only certain members can modify articles. Also, wikis are free to use.

A few of the great strengths of this forum is 1.) the immense knowledge of users, 2.) dedication of users, 3.) administration. The biggest weakness in my eyes is the searchability. It's limited to what the forum designers made and out of the control of administration/users. I think those three strengths, combined with a wiki, would eliminate the searchability weakness.

Possible articles/topics/subjects:
- Differences of ZHP over ZSP
- Chassis
- Engine
- Interior
- Exterior
- Driveline
- General E46

It could be run as www.wiki.zhpmafia.com or www.zhpmafial.com/wiki or even www.zhpwiki.com (or any other relevant URL).

I imagine a lot of the information would be relevant to the E46 in general, but with special emphasis on the ZHP.

For this reason, I think it would be acceptable if we discussed a "BMW E46" wiki option, too. Meaning, a ZHP Wiki vs E46 Wiki.

I'm willing to help out with the wiki.

So, what do we think?

HockeyGoon
03-28-2014, 07:32 PM
I second this

Hermes
03-28-2014, 07:59 PM
No, there's already lots of places to find info. No need to make another

Avetiso
03-28-2014, 08:00 PM
Not to be a downer, but I believe bimmerforums already has a wiki that is very thorough.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

wsmeyer
03-28-2014, 08:15 PM
I think we should keep the info on this site but in a format easier to read than a long thread.

SoDelBMW
03-28-2014, 08:47 PM